Gaisberg

The Gaisberg is a mountain near Salzburg, Austria. I can see it from my kitchen window even! // Der Gaisberg ist der Hausberg der Salzburger und grenzt an der Stadt selbst. Ich kann ihn sogar aus meinem Küchenfenster sehen!


So, I see this mountain daily a couple of times. When I look out my kitchen window, which I do every morning after waking up and every time I leave the house.
But why this text? What does it mean? Kumm auffa und g’spür translates to komm hinauf und spür… or come to us (to the top) and feel…. I actually wanted to make a lettering / illustration, but.. oh well. To see more at my behance.
auffi or auffa has different meanings, because the i or a at the end depict where the person asking you is standing. If a person says auffa, it means they’re already there and want you to come to the top, too. If the person sais auffi, it wants to go to – and is still not – at the top. But it doesn’t say where you really are, however. It just makes a connection to the top, so you could be literally standing one meter lower, someone would still want you to come auffa. The same rules apply with owi/owa which means down and relates to the ground. This is why this phrase is so difficult to translate into english. Acually this saying was written with only one F, but I’ve seen it written with two and it’s hard for me to say which version is correct. It’s also a regional saying, because the restaurant at the top uses it as a slogan, but it’s originally from a poem they had in their menu. Nevertheless, auffi is used in the whole country, but this sentence isn’t.
If you’re ever in Salzburg, take a trip there. It’s cozy. (thats…. the.. MEANING )

Ich sehe diesen Berg ein paar mal am Tag. Wenn ich aus dem Küchenfenster schaue, was so ziemlich jeden morgen passiert, oder wenn ich das Haus verlasse.
Aber wieso dieser Satz? Kumm auffa und gspür? Klar, das ist kein hochdeutsch. Es ist Salzburger Dialekt. Nicht der (hier verhasste) Wiener SLÄNG, nope. Schöner Dialekt. Hau drauf und ziehs loooong duach.
Jedenfalls, wo waren wir? Der Satz! Komm hinauf und spür ist aus einem Gedicht entlehnt, welches das bekannte Restaurant Kohlmayr’s Gaisbergspitz in ihrer Menükarte abgedruckt haben. Dieser Satz, dieser Berg inspirierten mich eigentlich zu einem Lettering als Illustration, doch das hat nicht so wirklich geklappt. Der ganze Prozess kann aber auf meinem behance verfolgt werden.

Österreichischer Dialekt hat etwas tolles, nämlich die Wörter auffa/auffi und owa/owi. Das a bzw. i am Ende verdeutlicht wo der Gesprächspartner steht. Verwendet jemand auffa, deutet er anderen Personen an, auch auf den Gipfel/die Höhenlage zu kommen.  Verwendet jemand auffi, möchte er selbst (weiter) hinauf. Das Gleiche passiert bei owa/owi. Entweder man ist oben und möchte selbst owi oder eine andere Person möchte, dass man owa geht. Übrigens, bei der Schreibweise von auffi sind mir beide Versionen geläufig und ich hab mich einfach für die Version mit ff entschieden.
Was ich also damit sagen möchte ist: Wenn du Salzburg besuchst, dann geh auffi und gspia! 

Kommentar verfassen

